Trio, for Three

img_0016.jpg

Last Saturday, two of my colleagues and I had a late lunch at Trio, a bistro grill-type restaurant over in The Fort Strip. It was my first time eating there, so I thought, “Eh, might as well do a review.”

So here it is.

First off, I have to say that Trio really was quite cozy. It doesn’t look like it from the outside, so it came to me as a shock that the place was actually nice.

img_0015.jpg img_0013.jpg

It was fancier than it seemed. From the level of service to the ambience, even to the table setting, the place emanated an air of casual formality that exceeded first impressions.

img_0001.jpg img_0004.jpg img_0009.jpg img_0002.jpg

It was the menu that finally proved my ideas about the restaurant correct. The food was quite pricey, well, maybe not that pricey, but pricey enough that I’d end up living in the streets if I made eating there into a daily routine. We ordered pizza, pasta, and an entree, there where three of us after all.

 img_0010.jpg img_0011.jpg img_0012.jpg

The Pepperoni & Cheese pizza was good, but it didn’t taste “gourmet” and the pepperoni wasn’t quite as tasty and authentic-tasting like in Joey Pepperoni’s. The entree, the Porkchop with Two Sauces was… eh. I thought the rice was dry, though the vegetables were crisp. What was disappointing was the pork. It was bland, probably dependent on the sauces to give it its flavor. I couldn’t tell the difference in the two sauces, though. It’s either they blended really well in the palate, or there just wasn’t that much difference between the two to create a dynamic taste. I liked the Canneloni (pasta). Its bechamel sauce was fantastic, really one of the best I’ve tasted. And while it was very tasty all by itself, the sourness of the tomatoes complimented the bechamel sauce really well. And it more than made up for the overdone pasta noodles, as well as the beef, which actually felt and tasted like processed dumpling filling.

Over all, it was a pleasant enough experience. I wouldn’t say it was the best, though. I still think it was a bit overpriced. But the food wasn’t half bad, and the ambience was comfortably relaxing. That combination is always good.

Also, I liked the sink in the bathroom. It was copper and the design was very industrial. The angle in which it was positioned is probably what I love the most about it. It made for a very modern look to an otherwise ordinary bathroom, that also may not necessarily fit the theme of the restaurant, but was still very eye-catching.

img_0003.jpg img_0005.jpg img_0006.jpg img_0007.jpg img_0008.jpg img_0014.jpg

~ by iamnotfrodo on January 7, 2008.

2 Responses to “Trio, for Three”

  1. nice one. to which restaurant can you compare the prices in trio?

  2. hmm…

    well…

    i wouldn’t know. ^_^

    but my total share of the bill was 400 bucks (tax & s.c. included), and all i ordered was the canneloni and bottomless iced tea. that oughtta be enough to give you an idea…

Leave a Reply

 
