4. How Do You See Yourself Five Years From Now?

In all honesty, I’m more of a “right now” kind of person. I choose to dwell in the present, to live my life on impulse. I choose to deal with whatever life throws my way as they come along. So I can’t say that I see a concrete visual of myself five years from today. There are simply too many factors to take into consideration. Will I have the same beliefs then? Will I want and need the same things that I want and need now? Will my environment and surroundings, dynamics that affect my everyday decisions adversely, remain intact, or would they have adhered to the changes time has made to the world in five years time? All these things, I need to take into consideration when visualizing what kind of future lies ahead of me. So you can just imagine how difficult it is for me to put into words what I think five years from now will be like for me. I’m sure it seems like a simple question, and maybe it is. But the future is a serious issue, at least for me anyway. To take it lightly would be unacceptable.

But what I lack in vision, I make up for in aspiration. Or at least, I like to think so. As Martin Luther King once said, “I have a dream.” Well, so do I. Although not as inspirational, my dream speaks volumes of which path I want to direct the rest of my life to. My dream is to become a photojournalist. While I’m unsure about a lot of things in my life, this much I know for a fact. It is my one ambition — to take beautiful photographs, and write about it. And to penetrate the Marketing Industry and immerse myself in Public Relations, Events, and Promotions seems like a good first step to achieve this dream. A path centered on a skill set that will make me better at my craft will lead me to become a flourishing and lucrative photojournalist of tomorrow. You can easily argue, I’m sure. But in my mind, this is what logically makes sense. This is what I believe in at present.

I guess if you really must know how I see myself five years from today, the best answer I can give you right now is, “I’m getting there.”

~ by iamnotfrodo on July 30, 2008.

2 Responses to “4. How Do You See Yourself Five Years From Now?”

  1. ugh! i hate hate hate this question!

  2. @gladys

    🙂

Leave a Reply

 
