Bella Swan, Whatta Whore

I was that boy, who would have — as soon as I discovered that you were what I was looking for — gotten down on one knee and endeavored to secure your hand.

The third installment to Stephenie Meyer’s thrilling Twilight Saga, Eclipse, follows the continuing love story between mortal Bella Swan, and vampire Edward Cullen.

After a disastrous breakup and Bella’s now impending “transformation” as implemented by The Volturi, our heroes find themselves in seemingly endless troubles still. This time, caused by one Jacob Black. He’s convinced that he’s in love with Bella, and he confesses so. And it seems that his efforts to win her heart may not necessarily be unrewarded, as Bella eventually succumbs to the feelings she has for the young werewolf. Ever the martyr, Edward merely acquiesces silently to the possibilities that it might not be happily ever after for him and Bella in the end. Bella is now forced to choose between the two loves of her life.

Meanwhile, a mysterious foe has been causing havoc in nearby Seattle. Could it be that Bella is really the true target? More importantly, will Edward and the Cullens’ combined forces be enough to protect her this time around? 

***

Okay, first of all, I think Meyer definitely brought it in this installment. And by ‘it’ I meant awesomeness! Yes, you heard right, you haven’t gone delusional. I (who’s admittedly never ever satisfied with anything) actually thought it was that good. New Moon, which I hated, was definitely the calm before the storm, because Eclipse was just pure redemption!

Probably the most glaring negative that easily comes to mind for this installment is that about two-thirds into the book, it got a bit fuzzy. I had to re-read several paragraphs over and over. Meyer’s writing style wasn’t always immediately direct to the point. She would hash and re-hash the characters’ thoughts, and I had trouble keeping up with them sometimes, especially with Edward’s mind-reading capabilities where he answers the person he’s communicating with even before that person opens his mouth. Thankfully, that stopped towards the end, and the details were once again clear and easy to follow. Of course, that’s probably just stupid me and my equally stupid ADD.

Meanwhile, I’m really upset with the way the characters developed. Of course, this kind of unexpected conflict is exactly what makes the book so good. Pay attention folks, cuz this is where I go ghey. It’s just that I don’t agree that *SPOILER ALERT* Bella is in love with two people. How could she be? Yes, I’m inexperienced in love and relationships, but I believe that love is both blind and blinding. You can’t possibly see anyone else if you’re truly, madly, deeply in love with someone. That’s what makes the whole thing maddening in the first place. How can she just say that she loves Jacob, just not as much as she loves Edward? Just the fact that she had allowed her heart to wander to some other green pasture, means that the love that she originally felt for Edward is no longer as strong. Bella just wants to keep both guys for herself. She’s just being selfish, in my opinion.

I guess I’m saying these things because I feel for Edward, after all, I do associate myself with him (something I learned after I read New Moon). I don’t understand or have the patience or the capability to forgive such hurtful indiscretions. I am, after all, just human. For all I care, Bella and Jacob deserve each other.

On the other hand, I think if I were in Bella’s shoes, *SPOILER ALERT* I would also choose Edward. I mean come on, *SPOILER ALERT* she freakin’ agreed to kiss Jacob and he still went against her wishes and joined the battle, only to find out later that it was really just a ploy of his to get her to admit to her true feelings for him. And stupid Edward still accepted her! No held grudges or whatever. It was like their whole situation was simple black and white, when it should’ve been complicated as hell. It’s clearly a case of “love is blind” for these characters, but it was still just that simple for them to accept their love triangle, and sorry, but I don’t think it really happens like that in real life.

I guess my point is, that’s where I’m having trouble with the character development. I do pity Jacob Black in the end, though. Only because Meyer pens pain on paper so well. The emotion just jumps off the page. You can’t not feel for the characters because the pain and the hurt is written with such emphatic clarity. Probably the only character that I don’t feel for is Bella. Her pain is the fact that she loved two people and only chose to be with one. Somehow, I just can’t get past her indiscretion. Because in my book, in my reality, that doesn’t add up.

Bella Swan is a whore.

~ by iamnotfrodo on October 17, 2008.

3 Responses to “Bella Swan, Whatta Whore”

  1. The last line was the same thing I concluded to after.
    Bella Swan is a WHORE, and she doesn’t deserve EDWARD. D:<

  2. She IS a whore!!!!!!

    I love edward, he and Bella were meant for eachother, and I think she made the right choice for herself.

    But I am so in love with Jacob Black!!! I would soooooooooo choose him over Edward!!!

  3. Bella swan is a slut, she is stringinig along both Edward and Jacob. One minute she is all like: “Oh Edward I live you!<3" And the next she is all. "Jacob I love you too!<3" She should just stop playing with their feelings. In Eclipse if she stopped hanging out with Jacob, it would be more easy for him to give her up. But because she is a whore and is always like. "I need to see Jacob." His feelings for who get stronger, making if harder for him to let Bella go. And for Bella to let Jacob go. And if I was Edward I would have straight up dumped her in Eclipse, when she made out with Jacob; I mean Edward and Bella are engaged and she makes out with Jacob. I don't care if it was a trick it was still wrong. She should of never, continued to see Jacob; I mean she gets Edward back and escapes with her life from the Volturi, and has her lfe back again. And she still needs Jacob, I mean come on. Why does se just continue to hurt him? I like Jacob. In fact if I was either Edward or Jacob, I would have dumped her. Bella can't have both Edward and Jacob. I don't care is she chooses Edward, if she had the chance and Edward was out of the way she would choose Jacob.

    Bella hurts Edward so much and does not ever realize it at all. She should just give up on love, all she does is hurt peple. "Stop it! From now on I am Switzerland!" Hah as if that would work. How can Edward let, Bella make Edward pass her and share her with Jacob, same goes for him. I would have planted my foot up her a**.

    She wants to be a vampire, but at the same time she wants Jacob. I mean come on she can't have both. And in Eclipse, the idiot invites Jacob to a party for her own needs. I mean if I was Edward or any of the other Cullen memebers I would have kicked Jacob out of the house (even though he is hot and I love him <3). And what else is gay is that she always has the wolves protecting her because she wants Jacob. I mean she already has the Cullen's so why take the wolves too. Is one mystical creature not enough. Does Bella have to steal the wolves too?

    I think everyone should just shiin Bella to the corner for being a slut. I hate her, and when she finds our Jacob imprints on Renesmee, she goes and freaks on Jacob. I mean come on, he let you go, he elt you be with Edward, and then when he finally finds his imrint she freaks on him.

    And in the movie Eclipse when, Jacob finds out about the army at the party he all like the pack and I will fight with you against the army. And Bella is all like. "No! You can't you might get hurt!" I love how she wants the wolves and vampires to get along but won't let the work together.

    And she only worries about Jacob getting hurt. I mean come on, what if Edward went to battle? He could have gotten killed by a newborn. Did that even go into Bella's mind. Bella is just a pathetic whore that need to be kicked, killed and taught a lesson. She should also be dumped by both Edward, Jacob, The Cullen's, and the Pack. The Volturi should eat her ass!!!!! (Love ya Jake<3

Leave a Reply

 
