Hand-To-Hand Combat | T-T-T-Teenage Maniac!

I cannot stop raving about Mêlée!

I’ve actually only discovered them recently (iknowrite? i’m so lame), and after listening to a few more of their songs, I was hooked. It feels like that time when I discovered Fall Out Boy (my favorite band) for the first time, the euphoria that I felt towards Mêlée’s music was just as instantaneous.

I find the ivory tunes they incorporate with their songs make for a truly refreshing alternative/pop sound. Their music is kind of reminsiscent of Snow Patrol’s or The Fray’s, and frontman Chris Cron’s swelling vocals (whose range I find astounding) have that “stoner” tone quality to it such as Switchfoot’s vocalist Jon Foreman. In spite of the many similarities, however, I can still say without bias that Mêlée has a truly unique sound. I think it’s in the uplifting piano tunes and the heart-warming lyrics.

Speaking of which, I noticed that their lyrics have a definite “emo” catch to them (which I actually appreciate, in case you’re not a fan). Surprisingly, their songs remain remarkably upbeat and positive, so I think they don’t fall into the “emo” category. In fact, when you listen to their songs, you just can’t help but smile and like them. Mêlée’s sound is really “feel good” music at it’s edgiest.

Mêlée | Frequently Baby

Whoo…
Whoo…
Whoo…
Whoo…

Frequently baby I’m out of my mind
Running around with you
Searching your eyes for an answer of something true
But when I turn back around to go get you
You’ve gone and run away
I’d kiss you goodbye if I thought it would make you stay

She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
Oh, I’m running away
From you

Whoo…
Whoo…
Whoo…
Whoo…

Yesterday’s world’s fighting for change and letting their
Memories look so sad
And you try to hold onto days that you wish we had
Now now, this is supposed to be my hit song
But then I wasted it all on you
Tomorrow is near and I’m not gonna waste it too

She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
T-T-T-Teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
Oh, I’m running away from you

Yeah!!!

She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
She’s just a teenage maniac
Ripped my heart out on the dance floor
Ohh
Oh, I’m running away from you

~ by iamnotfrodo on October 17, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
