C is for Cookie, That’s Good Enough for Me

Got myself a new cellphone today… I couldn’t resist! I figured that even if I’m poor and unemployed, it was time to replace my almost 3 year-old Nokia 6680 (stupid Globe never sent us a new one for retention *harrumphs*). Also, I was thinking of getting an iTouch anyway, so this is just like hitting two birds with one stone. Plus new toys are always the best remedies for bouts of emo-ish depression (which 2009 has been perpetuating thus far for me).

Actually, this would’ve even beeen an impulse buy the other day had I not controlled myself. Somehow, I managed to stop myself, go home, and read the reviews over the internets first. See? I wasn’t being the irresponsible spoiled brat everyone assumes me to be. I exercised restraint, then became the irresponsible spoiled brat everyone assumes me to be.

cookie1

So anyway, that’s how I got me a Cookie!

First off, let me just say that I think LG gives their phones the weirdest names (i.e. Cookie, Secret, Viewty – wtf??). And now that that’s out of my system…

The LG KP500, better known as the Cookie, is probably the cheapest touchscreen phone in the market today. Which is awesome for bums such as myself (1 year, baby… *sighs*), and is probably why it sells like hotcakes. I got mine at Avant (Abenson), located at Greenbelt 4. It, being the unit only, retails there for PhP 11,500.00 if paid in cash, but of course they also have credit card installment plans, only the price will be for just over 12k.

Personally, I really do like it. I’ve never really utilized the full capabilities of my old cellphones, just the basic functions, and the Cookie performs everything I need in a cellphone, read: messaging, phonebook, music player, organizer/calendar, WordPad document reader, photo/video camera, alarm clock, wap, calculator, converter, and finally, bluetooth. The Cookie does all this and more, like play FM radio. My personal favorite is that screen that sort of acts as the speed dials; you add contacts (upto eight) you most frequently interact with, then when you click on them, you can either call or text them. And yes, I’m aware I’m not explaining myself very well here, but meh. Also, I’m sure it probably does some other stuff stuff too, but I’m probably not gonna use those ever, so I won’t discuss them here. I do wish it had WiFi. It would’ve been perfect then.

So far, the only concerns I have with this phone are the smudging, its speed (it takes about a second to respond to commands), and the touch sensitivity of the screen. Sometimes it’s too sensitive, and other times it’s completely unresponsive. Maybe the two problems are somehow interconnected. But I sure know that typing is a b*tch using this phone. I consider myself a fairly fast texter, but with the Cookie, you will be forced to match its pace. I also wish that the default typing tool is the qwerty keyboard. It’s faster than the keypad option, but is a bit of a hassle to have to switch to it every single time.

I’ll add any other pertinent issues I develop with this phone in the future, but I’ll end this post here for now. I still think it’s a good phone, if you put into consideration the fact that it performs all your basic mobile phone functions, and especially if you consider the price. With touchscreen phones normally priced at over thirty grand, the Cookie is not at all bad.

~ by iamnotfrodo on February 5, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
