Push Kinda Like

Push was that kind of film.

push

You know, that edgy little b-film that has that indie kind of vibe, is probably written by a comic book fanboy, and is mostly intended for the not really smart but not really moronic kind of audience, a younger but mature kind of crowd. It didn’t look commercial or your typical Hollywood action flick, and I doubt it would win any snooty substantial award, but it was really, really well-made. It reminded me of a Quentin Tarantino film, actually. There was texture, texture everywhere! The actors sort of lacked the emotional depth desperately needed to make the movie’s story even remotely compelling, but it sure made up for it in visuals. It did suffer a bit in the action department, considering that it’s an action thriller. Hardly any gore, and the fight scenes were almost a snooze. Final battle wasn’t even epic, not for superpowered humans, at least. Nothing in the movie happened that had me hanging off the edge of my seat. In fact there were lots of holes in the story. The plot itself is not something I haven’t seen or heard before, and was only made new by the visceral experience of having the Hong Kong slums for a movie setting, and their unsophisticated psychic terminologies. Not that I found the story monotone, I just wish it were more haunting, more personal. The characters could’ve been developed more. And I won’t mention the effects. I found them mediocre. They should’ve pushed the envelope when it came to the psychic powers.

chris-evans camilla1 dakota-djimon1

But nevertheless, I liked this flick. It wasn’t as monotonous as I probably made it sound, I just think it could’ve been better, you know? And I totally dug the edge, and the quirkiness of the characters, except for Chris Evans’ character Nick. There was just nothing special about him. But again, the visuals involved in this movie totally saved it from doom. It was almost like everything else about this movie was made to be subtle (in a good way) to make way for the standout visual impact of the film. Seriously, I liked it despite my criticisms. It wasn’t bad at all. Push is a must-see.

~ by iamnotfrodo on February 12, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
